Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Amit Kumar Interview
Hamara Forums > Music > Singers
vivekpm
http://ww1.mid-day.com/hitlist/2005/april/106719.htm

The 52-year old son of the late Kishore Kumar, Amit, is today married with a three-month old daughter, Muktika, and a ten-year old stepdaughter, Vrinda. We caught up with the singer who never got his dues, even though he is immensely talented.

Though his voice is a replica of his famous father’s, filmmakers prefer poor copies like Babul Supriyo and Kumar Sanu.

Filmi politics and thriving competition drove the reclusive singer into a life of oblivion. Now, the singer is happy doing live shows and albums.

We catch the reclusive singer in a rare tête-à-tête:

When did you get married?
On June 24, 2003. Rima is a singer by profession and has sung for my album Le Chalo, which I shall be releasing on my dad’s birthday, August 4. We have a daughter called Muktika (born on December 31, 2004); her name means a wet pearl.

Le Chalo is an album based on my relationship with father. Now I want to do an album today on my relationship with my daughter Muktika.

Was it a love marriage?
Yes. I met Rima during a stage show in 1990 in Assam, where she was performing too. But we fell in love in 1996-97 during a country tour. We were doing shows together and soon the friendship turned into love.

But she was married then. Reema got divorced four years ago. We faced some turbulent times then and there was some tension, but everything is fine today. Rima’s husband and I are friends today.

Why have you shifted out of your father’s bungalow?
Because there is renovation work going on there. We have leased the ground floor out to an NRI lady who is opening the Serenity Salon there. We are getting good money.